I am Tribalist

Dear K,

I have come to realise I am tribalist.

Hold your horses, I want you to forget the negative connotation that you have with that word and open your mind and consequently your heart to what I am about to say. Plus tribalist is not an English word apparently so embrace this new word.

I say I am tribalist because my mother tongue is what defines me.

It is seen in my body. The shape and curves that my mother blessed me with. The body that everyone comments on. The reason that many call me Adhiambo C… Connect the dots. (I am not trying to brag, I am merely making a point). These are statement that often I relate to my tribe and I take joy from that.

It is heard in our speech. This is the part where I say luo is a dialect that even the queen understands. LOL. No but seriously, Luo is possibly the coolest language. The way it sounds is beautiful. Like poetry. I often enjoy listening to the elders speak it because with the proper pronunciation and grammar it sounds lovely.

It is experienced from the way I carry myself. Now many say ‘ujaluo itakua’ because we are known for our pride. Our pride that leads to us only wanting the best. I look at it this way, it is that pride that makes me work hard so I can get the best because I cannot imagine a life where I know I can do better and get better. Just to be clear my best and better does not mean a house in Runda driving a X6.

It is from the traditions. The little things that keep the dignity and respect not only for my elders but for my brothers and sisters. This culture that we live that makes our celebrations from marriage to burial vibrant. Now the use of vibrant and burial may seem wrong but even in the lowest moment of our lives you see some colour.

Do you get what I mean?

But this does not mean I am discriminatory to other tribes, on the contrary it makes me want to experience more. So I want to know

I am tribalist, are you?

Why?

Say hello to the wife and kids 😀

Song of the blog: Kisumu-Suzzana Owiyo

Leave a Reply

